comforter conundrum

29 May

When we first moved into our apartment, we were so blessed to be given a whole furniture set by my parents. Along with it came a lovely duvet cover, pillows and blankets. It really was lovely.


Now, at this time, we didn’t have Samantha yet. If you know anything about cats, you’ll realize that they can be very hairy and pretty messy! Our beautiful cream duvet fell prisoner to kitty litter mess and the black coverlet to little kitty hairs. No me gusta nada. Something had to be done.

I searched for a new comforter for months and months. We’re on a tight budget and I was enticed by a $34 comforter set from Walmart. It was white. Why I thought white would be better than cream, I do not know. I thought it would be a nice change and I could still keep my color scheme.

Hated it. Samantha still made a mess of it (10 points if you can spot her in the picture!) and it did nothing for the room. I’ve found that I like much warmer colors and the white was just too stark for my taste- especially because we can’t paint our walls!

Well, third time is the charm right? I decided to go for something TOTALLY different. Color. Geometric. Something to totally brighten up the space.  GREEN.

I absolutely adore this bedspread. (Thanks for the birthday present, Mom!)

With crisp white sheets. It’s so warm and inviting. I cannot wait for Mr. Army Man to come home and flop his tired body into our lovely bed! It’s a shame I didn’t take these pictures in the daytime, because we get wonderful natural light- but you get the idea!

Look at the darling little coral pillow I got to add too. Swoooon.

The comforter is just the beginning of this room’s transformation though! With the new color palette, we need new curtains for sure. We need some new pictures. New lamps for the side tables.

(Sammy is pleased, but not completely satisfied yet)

We also need to do something with this poor dresser. I’m thinking beachy and organic to offset the traditional dark wood and bring out the casual vibe of our new bedspread.

Something should definitely happen with our little TV table which looks sad and lacks cohesion(and used to be in our family room!)

But when all is said and done, I love the comforter and the room is beginning to make more sense to me. I know what I want and have my eye on the prize!

Can’t wait to continue to show you the progress.

xoxo,
Jessica

Leave a Reply

